08 December, 2008

21st European Film Awards: And The Winners Are...

Matteo Garrone's harsh, hard-hitting exposé of the Neapolitan mafia, Gomorra, took five awards, while everyone's favourite 'M', Dame Judi Dench, was presented with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 21st European Film Awards ceremony in Copenhagen, on 6 December 2008.

Click here for the full list of nominees.


Best Film: Gomorra

Best Director: Matteo Garrone, Gomorra

Best Actor: Toni Servillo, Gomorra

Best Actress: Kristin Scott Thomas, I've Loved You So Long

Best Screenwriter: Maurizio Braucci, Ugo Chiti, Gianni di Gregorio, Matteo Garrone, Massimo Gaudioso and Roberto Saviano, Gomorra

Carlo di Palma European Cinematographer Award: Marco Onorato, Gomorra

European Film Academy Prix D'Excellence: Magdalena Biedrzycka for costume design, Katyn

Best Composer: Max Richter, Waltz With Bashir

European Film Academy Critics Award - Prix FIPRESCI: Abdellatif Kechiche, The Secret of the Grain

European Film Academy Documentary - Prix Arte Rene: Rene by Helena Trestikova

European Film Academy Short Film - Prix UIP: Frankie by Darren Thornton

European Film Academy Lifetime Achievement Award: Dame Judi Dench

European Achievement in World Cinema: Soren Kragh-Jacobsen, Kristian Levring, Lars von Trier, and Thomas Vinterberg

European Discovery Award: Steve McQueen (Hunger)

People's Choice Award: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, by David Yates

No comments: